The Town of Tonawanda Planning Board was formed in 1950 by the Town Board.
The 1955 Planning Board was comprised of the following members:

  • Earl R. Nunemaker, chairman
  • Lorna R. Cruickshank, vice chairman
  • Edward A. Dunlap
  • Theodore A. Krehbiel, secretary
  • J. Donald McKenzie
  • Robert A. Penman
  • Everett J. Stiggins
  • A. Russell Tryon, town planning consultant
  • Lyle A . Findlay, legal advisor
  • Marguerite Dingeldey, secretary pro tem

The board is codified by Chapter 27 of the town code and was recently assigned site plan approval authority under Chapter 215-70.53 for zoning.

  • 7:00 pm
  • First Wednesday of the month
  • 2919 Delaware Ave.
    Room 21
    Kenmore, NY 14217
Agendas and Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are also available following approval.


TrusteesOfficeDate AppointedTerm Ends
Kenneth J. Swanekamp Chairman 2012 3/27/2019
Fredrick Frank Vice-Chairman 2017 3/27/2024
Mark Rountree   2017 4/10/2024
Fred W. Kubus Secretary   2015 12/31/2022
Robert Morris   2014 12/31/2021
Denis J. Uminski   2018 3/27/2025
Joseph S. Frandina, PE   2010 12/31/2023
  • Councilman Bargnesi - Town Board, Ex-Officio
  • Carl Heimiller - Building Department, Ex-Officio       


Waterfront Rezoning

In December 2001, the Town of Tonawanda engaged the services of Wendel Duchscherer to assist with rezoning the town's waterfront. The draft documents below represent the efforts of this project.